Candy

Fleur de Sel and a New Year

And with the new year, I bring you a new blog! As some of you may know, I have had a few blogs in the past, but this time I decided to start fresh. I wanted something that would highlight the food/clothes/whatever I make, without being as personal as the previous ones have been. I also thought it would be a good time to start writing again since I just finished school and actually have time for it now (more or less).

Today the boyfriend and I made fleur de sel caramels; chewy, buttery, and not overly sweet as many caramels tend to be. And with every granule of fleur de sel that touches the tongue, you get a nice pop of flavour.

I got the recipe from one of the two new (and very cute) books I bought this weekend, Sugar Baby.

Some things I learned from making these:

  1. Quality ingredients make ALL the difference and are well worth the price (if you can afford it!).
  2. Fleur de sel is expensive! Or maybe Whole Foods is. Possibly both. I will definitely be saving that one in the pantry for special occasions…
  3. Caramel is kinda a pain in the butt to cut up, which leads to snacking of all the bad pieces, which leads to terrible, terrible things….
  4. USE GOOD BUTTER. I will refer you back to number one! These caramels were really smooth and buttery, but not overly rich, which I’m sure I can attribute to the good butter. Since we had some leftover this morning, Robert and I used a pat of it when we made scrambled eggs, and OHMIGOD. yep. I don’t think I can ever go back to buying the $2/# stuff at Stater Bros…

Anyway, I hope ya’ll enjoy my new blog, and have a wonderful 2012! My new year’s resolution is not necessarily to lose weight, but to definitely not gain it. We’ll see what’ll happen with all these caramels sitting around…

Standard

Leave a Reply

