Cake, Petit Four

Orange Blossom Honey Financiers

Despite the fact that I had to work on my day off, today actually turned out to be one of the most pleasant days I’ve had in a while. Everything went fairly smoothly at work, I got to have lunch with Robert after, and spend the rest of the afternoon just relaxing at home with him watching some of our favorite movies.

For Christmas my brother got me a gift card to Amazon, which I promptly spent on four new (mini) flexipans, and today I finally got to test one of them out. The recipe I used was adapted from DessertFirst’s Honey Financier recipe.

Image

The ingredients. Financiers are basically petit French tea cakes that traditionally use both almond flour and browned butter. Remember to use the good stuff! Plugra, you are my favorite butter!

Image

Testing out the flexipan.

Image

The results. It never ceases to amaze me how such a simple recipe can produce exactly what I wanted, just a cute, simple teacake. There was no creaming involved, no sifting, no nonsense; aside from browning the butter, all you have to do is mix!  The orange blossom honey gave it a very delicate floral flavor, as well as keeping it moist throughout the cake. It came out very tender, with a slight chewyness from the combination of the almonds and honey. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to make some tea!

Standard

Leave a Reply

