Cookies, fruit, Petit Four

Mixed Berry and Basil Macarons and Some Very Good News

So I know I haven’t been the best blogstress out there and I haven’t updated this thing in a while, but I have a good reason, I promise!!

Image

Robert proposed to me on Thursday! That was a pretty good reason, right? I think I can safely say that we’re both really excited and have a million thoughts running through our minds at the moment. It’s an amazing feeling knowing that the person you want to spend the rest of your life with feels the exact same way about you.

And so, because of the lack of posts last week, I’ll definitely try to make up for that this week! Yesterday I made some mixed berry and basil macarons, which turned out better than I expected.

Image

This would be my fourth (!!) attempt at making the tiny confections, and so far this is the only time that it has actually worked! Needless to say I was giddy when the little pink discs puffed up and showed their feet in the oven!

Image

I know that Valentine’s Day is such a cheesy, money-driven holiday, but given the circumstances, I couldn’t help myself this year and I decided I pretty much had to make something pink and cute! They ended up being pretty damn delicious if I do say so myself, and the basil oil in the filling just lingers on your tongue for the next hour, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. 
Image
Anyway, whether you celebrate St. Valentine’s or not, I hope you have an amazing day (:
Standard

Leave a Reply

