Breakfast, Dinner, lunch

Epic (Creole) Breakfast

Yesterday for breakfast Robert and I made a shrimp and sausage jambalaya. We put this recipe to the test, and it didn’t disappoint!

Image

Southern trinity of aromatics, minus the celery because I forgot to put it in the picture, hahha. Also, a ton of garlic, because I love me some garlic.

Image

Toasting the rice after adding the tomato paste. I love the orange/gold color that it turned when the tomato started cooking.

Image

After adding the liquids and the sausage.

Image

The results. So I’ll admit that I did take a couple shortcuts here, mainly because I wanted to use what I had on hand. Also, instead of the traditional Andouille sausage I used chicken sausage, which is probably blasphemy down in Louisiana but I’m trying to save money here! Regardless of the minor substitutions, the jambalaya still tasted amazing, and I even added a few dashes of jabanero powder to kick the spice up a notch.

Standard

Leave a Reply

