DIY, Fashion, Sewing

Golden Peplum

So I’ve wanted a fitted yellow dress for a while now, basically ever since I saw this Sugababes music video, and I’ve also been trying to figure out how to make a peplum dress for a long time too; what better time than in the midst of Spring?

Image

Cute, right? This one is from AX Paris, for $48. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find any sort of peplum dress anywhere here, and I’m also still trying to save up money for the wedding so buying one was out of the question. It was time to fire up the sewing machine once again!

Image

I chose a dark gold fabric with green undertones, and it actually came out pretty nice and was a lot easier to make than I thought. Basically you just make a simple pencil skirt, sew a mini circle skirt on top of it, and attach a basic tank top. From start to finish this dress took roughly 2 hours to make.

Image

Robert kept making me laugh in these pictures! Sigh, that boy! Anyway, while I’m not a big fan of ruffles, I think peplums add a nice touch of femininity to some dresses, and the bateau neckline keeps it classy.

If you want to make your own peplum dress, I suggest watching this video from LoveSewing.com, and have fun!

Create Your Own Office Peplum Dress

Standard

One thought on “Golden Peplum

Leave a Reply

