Chocolate, Cookies, Petit Four, Recipes

Black Sesame and Lemongrass Macarons

Image

After seeing Sadaharu Aoki’s black sesame eclair, I knew I wanted to make some kind of pastry with black sesame. For some reason it had never occurred to me that this flavor would work well in desserts, but considering all the asian desserts I’ve had that were either covered in sesame seeds or consisted mainly of them, it all made sense; the nuttiness and slightly bitter aftertaste balances out with whatever sweet ingredients you want to combine them with.

Image

So with this knowledge I decided I wanted to make an Asian-inspired macaron, but wanted to stray away from the typical green tea or coconut. Lemongrass it is! I love how the citrus-y floral aroma brightens up the entire cookie and gives the ganache in the center a nice flavour without being too aggressive.

Image

Black Sesame and Lemongrass Ganache

makes enough to fill 100 macarons

180 g heavy cream

60 g lemongrass (about 2 stalks, trimmed and cleaned)

70 g black sesame seeds

225 g milk chocolate

With a mallet or a dull object (I used the back of my knife), bruise lemongrass until the stalks open up in the center. Cut into 2 inch pieces and combine with cream in a small saucepot. Bring cream to a boil, then turn off heat and let steep 30 minutes, covered. Set aside.

In a saute pan, toast sesame seeds until fragrant and until some of the seeds begin to pop. Remove from heat. Using a spice grinder, grind seeds (while still slightly warm) until oils are released and it turns into a smooth paste; this may take a few minutes.

In a bowl combine milk chocolate andĀ  sesame paste. Strain your cream mixture and bring cream to a boil again. Pour over chocolate and sesame paste, then whisk until ganache is smooth. Keep refrigerated until ready to use.

For the macaron shells, I would recommend using My Food Geek’s recipe, or any recipe that uses the Italian meringue method. Happy Eats!

Standard

7 thoughts on “Black Sesame and Lemongrass Macarons

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award « mypenandme

  2. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award and recap of all previous nominees « mypenandme

  3. Wow, creative recipe! I was wondering, would sliced canned lemongrass work for this recipe? My local grocery store didn’t have fresh lemongrass, but these macaroons look so cute! I want to try making them. šŸ™‚

    • Hmm I’ve never actually seen canned lemongrass before, so I guess their effectiveness would depend on what they are packed in (water, or syrup). In any case, since the lemongrass is just used to steep in the cream, I’m sure if you increase the amount a little more it would be just as effective! If you decide to try it out, let me know how it goes!

      • Ok, thanks! The kind I have is packed in water, salt, and citric acid. I haven’t sampled it yet because I’m afraid of what flavor to expect. Because it has lemon in the name I’m expecting a lemon meringue taste, but I’m not sure. We shall see though because I’m going to cook with it sometime this week.

Leave a Reply

