Cake, fruit, Recipes

Happy Birthday [To Me!]

Image

Today I hit the ripe old age of 22, so of course I had to make my own cake! This one is green tea sponge cake with passion fruit cream and marscapone chantilly (instead of buttercream).

It’s amazing how much can happen in one year, and I’d say that this was a very eventful one; in the past year I’ve:

  • gotten engaged and am currently planning our wedding (woot!)
  • graduated from culinary school
  • got a new job (which I am soon to be promoted at! yayy!!)
  • began painting again
  • started this blog!
  • learned some amazing things about pastries and about myself and just life in general
  • met and made friends with some amazing people

Image

The list goes on and on. It’s crazy how much one can change in just 365 days, or in any moment, for that matter, and I know I’m grateful for all of those moments given to me.

For an amazing sponge cake recipe I used The Little Teochew’s recipe, doubled it, and added 5 grams of matcha powder (green tea), although next time I will probably double that amount for a stronger flavor. For the marscapone chantilly I just whisked together 250g marscapone, 250 g heavy cream, 65 g sugar, and about 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract until all the lumps were gone, and then whipped the mixture until it was fairly stiff. And last but not least, inspiration for this cutie-pie cake comes from Cupcake D’lights, where I go to be jealous of all the amazing cakes she makes!

Here’s to another amazing year for the both of us!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday [To Me!]

Leave a Reply

