Cake, Wedding

Square Cakes, a.k.a. My Fickle Adversary In the Kitchen (This Week…)

Image

In the last week and a half I’ve made 3 square wedding cakes at work, and let me just say, they can be a pain in the butt. Don’t get me wrong, I love decorating cakes regardless of the shape or size, but square cakes have so many more obstacles than your ordinary round cake!

Image

For instance, corners! Do you know how hard it is to cover a sharp, pointy corner with something as soft as fondant? Those 4 corners are basically 4 chances for your fondant to tear. And even if you aren’t using fondant and just covering it in buttercream, it’s hard enough just to make it look like it has a sharp, clean edge.

Image

This was another cake I made this week. They wanted it under a canopy hanging from the ceiling! The ceiling!! I know that has nothing to do with the cake being square, but I just wanted to point out how crazy wedding trends are getting these days, haha.

Image

I had so much trouble covering that bottom tier with fondant that I had to do it 3 (3!!!) times before I got it right, without any tearing. It was just really big and it turns out I have tiny arms and/or tiny hands. Who knew? Anyway, in the end, as long as the finished product looks amazing then I know it’s all worth the strain and stress that it was. So far I haven’t had any real disasters decorating (that were my fault, at least), so I’m grateful for that and for all the opportunities I have to just MAKE these things from start to finish and get some good practice in. These are just two of the many cakes that I have done (and will do in the future), and I don’t think they look too terrible! Practice makes perfect, right?

Also, just in case you haven’t noticed, Knitterbakerpateachouxmaker has a new look! Since the ol’ bloggy is almost 2 years old, I decided it’s time to change things up a bit and give it a more simple, minimal look so that I can place more emphasis on the pictures I upload rather than any background images and so forth. Whaddaya think?

Standard

Leave a Reply

